The information website about the Champs-Elysees Avenue
Monday August 19th 2019


Place de la Concorde

Place de la Concorde

The Place de la Concorde is one of the major squares in Paris, France. It is located in the city’s eighth arrondissement, at the eastern end of the Champs-Élysées.


Before being called “place de la Concorde”, this plaza was called place Louis XV (1748-1792), place de la Révolution (1792-1795), place de la Concorde (1795-1814), place Louis XVI (1826-1828). Under Louis-Philippe, it took back its pacific name of place de la Concorde.

The place de la Concorde owes its style to 2 architects : Jacques Ange Gabriel and Jacques Hittorff. The creation of this wide plaza is due to the first one, fountains, columns are due to the second one.

The origins of la Concorde

In 1748, in order to immortalize its reign, 28 architects take part in a project to the creation of a plaza. The King Louis XV chose a wide field next to the Tuileries Garden. Jacques Ange Gabriel is given the charge of conducting the work, that started on the 20th of July 1753.

We must wait until the adoption of the law of the 20th of August 1828 for the Gabriel’s work to be finished ; the Champs-Elysées Avenue control pass from the State to the city of Paris The embellishment of the plaza will be decided after a contest. It is finally Hittorff that wins the contest and his first work will be the foundation of the Obelisk of Louqsor. Offered by the vice-king of Egypt, Méhémet Ali, on the 23rd of October 1831, the monument is 22,83 meters high and weighs about 230 tons. The Obelisk will be installed on the 25th of October 1836, that is to say 5 years later.

Six statues symbolizing cities of France are ordered. They will decorate the place de la Concorde from July 1838. The same year, 20 columns of 9,60 meters high are added. On the 1st of May 1840, 2 fountains will embellish the plaza.

Many historical events happened on the place de la Concorde, and one of the major events was the liberation of Paris.


Station: Concorde
Metro lines 1, 8, 12

View Larger Map